Beam Electronics iPhone Charging Cable

Charging Cable Short

Item: iPhone 5 & 6 Charging Cable by Beam Electronics

Reviewed by: Heather Ford

Link to item on Amazon.com: Beam Electronics iPhone Charging Cable


My household was late to the party when it came to upgrading from the iPhone 4 to an iPhone 5 or 6.  Not because we normally lag the pack, but primarily because we had an unlimited data plan and upgrading our phones meant having to make a very difficult decision… Pay full price for the phone or give up our unlimited data.  Funny thing is that neither I, nor my husband, used over 3GB of data a month so it wasn’t about the data.  Our stubbornness was completely based on principle.  Anyway, around Christmas last year we bit the bullet and each bought an iPhone 6.  Well great, now we have these fancy new phones and if you recall Apple changed the charger input with the iPhone 5.  Since we were switching from the iPhone 4 none of our old chargers were compatible and when I say chargers, I mean our collection of chargers.  I had one in my car, my travel bag, my work bag, by my bed, in the kitchen, on my desk at work, you name it there was a charger there.  With Christmas quickly approaching buying a bunch of new charging cords wasn’t exactly at the top of my “need” list so we made do with one charger each.  I can’t even begin to list out all of the times I’ve come home from traveling and gotten in bed only to remember that my charger was still in my luggage or all the times I’ve run out of battery at work and had to borrow a friends charger.  Enough was enough, it was time to get a few spare chargers.  I was given the opportunity to purchase an iPhone charging cable from Beam Electronics in exchange for my honest and unbiased review of the product.  Now about the charger:

The Bean Electronics charger looks very similar to a normal iPhone charger.  The USB ends are identical as are the lightning connectors.  Pictures of the lightning connectors are below.

Charging Cable Short_3Charging Cable Short_2

The cord width is also very similar with Apple version being ever so slightly bigger.

Charging Cable Short_1

The major difference that I can tell between the two is that the Beam Electronics cable feels more like a wire.  What I mean by that is when you bend it, it almost stays in that position.  Think of it similar to a pipe cleaner.  I would be concerned that if it got bent one too many times the inside wires would break.  This is something that the Apple cord doesn’t do, those cables are very flexible.

As far as charging goes, the Beam Electronics cable was able to charge/sync with my phone from the computer (I have a ThinkPad), the wall plug, and from my car (a Nissan Xterra).  My only complaint would be the rate at which it charges in the car, it’s very slow.  If my phone was using an app such as navigation or Pandora it wouldn’t gain any charge, it would basically stay flat.

Here is what Beam Electronics has to say about their product:

BEAM ELECTRONICS CABLES ARE BUILT TO LAST AND GUARANTEED FOR LIFE!

  • Never Worry – Generic Cables always give you the infamous message
  • Sync and Charge at the same time at the fastest speeds on your windows PC or Mac
  • With the low profile this cable fits with any case on your phone
  •  Guaranteed for LIFE! 100% Satisfaction with no questions asked. Its durability, connectivity, compatibility, and Performance is 100% Guaranteed. WE HAVE NOT AUTHORIZED ANYONE TO RESELL OUR PRODUCTS. GUARANTEE IS ONLY VALID WITH YOUR PURCHASE FROM BEAM ELECTRONICS AND NO ONE ELSE.

Happy Charging!

Heather

Disclosure: I received this item at a discount in exchange for my honest and unbiased review.  I will not recommend a product to others that I, myself don’t use.  The opinions provided above are my own without influence.

Leave a Reply

