The Magic of Friendship


Friendship

Item: The Magic of Friendship

Reviewed by: Heather Ford

Link to item on Amazon.com: The Magic of Friendship


Ever since we received our first children’s eBook my girls have been asking when we will get to read more.  I have been on the hunt for opportunities to read and review new children’s stories.  My girls love books, but they love their iPads even more so combining the two is one of the greatest things ever to them.  We use the Kindle app to read books on our iPad.  It’s always fascinating to me how well they can maneuver through the apps to find exactly what they want.  They can navigate easily through all of their games as well as find videos about anything on YouTube Kids.  So, I wasn’t really surprised when I went into the Kindle app, to verify that our newest eBook was downloaded, to find a ton of “sample” versions of books downloaded into the app.  When I asked the girls about the samples they nonchalantly responded, “Oh, those are just the books we want you to buy.”  As I scrolled through the list of about 20, I finally found the book I had downloaded.  It was a nice day so we decided to venture outside to read the story “The Magic of Friendship” together.

friendship2

“The Magic of Friendship” is a story about how an unexpected friendship came to be.  The tiger, Babbar, is feared by all of the animals in the forest and finds himself to be very unhappy.  He oversees Hasmukh, the silly donkey, laughing and having fun with the other animals.  Babbar wants to learn how to be silly too so he strikes a deal with Hasmukh.  He will teach Hasmukh to be scary if Hasmukh will teach him how to be funny.  The two spend a lot of time together trying to teach each other how to be scary and funny.  In the end Hasmukh never becomes scary and Babbar never becomes funny, but they do become great friends.  The other animals of the forest also realize that they no longer have to fear Babbar and they can all play together.  My girls really enjoyed this book and recognized that while it may be scary at first to reach out to somone new, they may turn out to be a great friend.

From the Author, Subhash Kommuru:

“Guaranteed to get a giggle out of kids, The Magic of Friendship also provides plenty of opportunities for readers to connect with the characters in richly detailed, mesmerizing illustrations.  The focus is on friendship and its healing effect while the story is spoken from the viewpoint of a father and son in a multi-generation relationship.
The picture book is perfect for read-aloud fun and is also appropriate for beginning readers.”

Happy Reading!

Heather

Disclosure: I received this item free of charge in exchange for my honest and unbiased review. I will not recommend a product to others that I, myself don’t use. The opinions provided above are my own without influence.

Leave a Reply

